Board officers appointed in 2017


See Full Board


SAN ANTONIO –At its most recent meeting, the Port San Antonio Board of Directors selected its newest slate of officers.

The full board is comprised of 11 members appointed by each City of San Antonio councilmember, including the Mayor. They serve on a voluntary basis and provide extensive private- and public-sector expertise as the Port advances its mission. In 2015, the Port established a goal to create 5,000 new jobs by 2020, with a particular focus in the aerospace, advanced manufacturing, cybersecurity, defense and logistics sectors.

Officer elections are held annually.

Victoria Garcia

Victoria Garcia

Victoria Garcia is the new Board Chair. She is appointed by City Council District 4 and has been a board member since 2009. She previously served as Secretary-Treasurer, in 2012, and as the 2016 Vice Chair.

Garcia is the Managing Partner of Bracewell LLP’s San Antonio office, where she specializes in labor & employment law and immigration. Garcia also serves on the Board of Directors for Texas Public Radio, the Board of Trustees for the United Way of San Antonio and Bexar County, the Board of Directors for the Free Trade Alliance San Antonio, the Board Development Committee for the Girl Scouts of Southwest Texas and the Western District of Texas Admissions and Disciplinary Committee.

Garcia holds law degree and Master’s of Public Affairs from the University of Texas at Austin. She also earned a Bachelor of Science in Foreign Service from Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.

ej moore

Edward J. (E.J.) Moore

Edward J. (E.J.) Moore is the new Vice Chair. An appointee of City Council District 2, he has served on the board since 2010. He previously served as Secretary-Treasurer, in 2013 (a role that has since been divided into two positions), and as Treasurer in 2016.

Moore recently retired as a business owner, where for several years he provided investment and procurement management services. He also had an extensive military career, from which he retired in 1995 after reaching the rank of Lieutenant Colonel in the U.S. Army. His last military assignment was as the Army’s South Principal Assistant Responsible for Contracting (PARC). As a contracting officer, Moore oversaw a team that negotiated contracts in excess of $100 million.

He holds an undergraduate degree in economics from the University of Southwestern Louisiana (now University of Louisiana, Lafayette) and a Master’s in Business Administration from the Florida Institute of Technology. He is also a graduate of the Defense System Managers Course.

He is a member and current president of the San Antonio chapter of the Omega Psi Phi fraternity.

Glenn MacTaggart

Glenn MacTaggart

Glenn MacTaggart will serve a second term as Secretary. An appointee of City Council District 10, he has served on the board since 2013 and served his first term as Secretary in 2016.

He is an attorney with the San Antonio firm of Prichard Hawkins & Young, where he specializes in litigation involving government contract and medical care fraud matters. He has practiced law for over 36 years, including working for 20 years as an Assistant U.S. Attorney in the U.S. Department of Justice. He also served for 30 years in the U.S. Army Reserve, retiring as a Colonel in the Judge Advocate General’s Corps.

MacTaggart earned his law and master’s degrees from St. Mary’s University and holds an undergraduate degree from Washington & Jefferson College. He has participated in several civic organizations since first moving to San Antonio in 1973 and for several years has been active in various humanitarian projects in Central America.

Chris Alderete

Chris Alderete

Chris Alderete is the new Treasurer. An appointee of City Council District 7, she has been a member of the board since 2008. She served as Secretary-Treasurer and as Vice-Chair during her eight years of service to the board.

Alderete attended San Antonio College and Trinity University. She began her 35-year health care career at Christus Santa Rosa and obtained her certification from the Texas Home and Community Support Service Agency (HCSSA) as a Home Health Care Administrator.

She also hosts Catholic Television of San Antonio’s (CTSA Channel 15) show "Today’s Ministries," highlighting ministry-based programs in the Archdiocese of San Antonio.

After her retirement in 2014 she became a small business owner. She owns and operates The Rose Boutique—a floral company affiliated with FTD serving all of Bexar County.

Alderete chaired the 2000 Census Complete Count Committee and the Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women on behalf of former San Antonio Mayor Ed Garza. In 2012 she was appointed by Mayor Julián Castro as co-chair of the 2012 Proposed Bond Committee on Streets, Bridges and Sidewalks. Currently she serves on the City of San Antonio’s 2017 Drainage & Flood Control Community Bond Committee. Alderete also served on the Blue Ribbon 2017 bond committee for the San Antonio Independent School District—a measure that was approved by voters in the November 2017 election.

She is also the former President of the San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame and continues to serve on the organization’s board of directors. Likewise, she was former chair and continues to serve on the board of OASIS—a national organization that promotes successful aging through lifelong learning, health programs and volunteer engagement.

She previously served as board chair of SAMM Ministries, where she oversaw the acquisition and development of a transitional shelter for homeless families.

Currently she serves on the board of the University of Texas Health Science Center’s Cancer Therapy and Research Center (CTRC). The organization recently became affiliated with MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas.

Her other current board positions include The Heritage at Westover Hills—an assisted living and memory care center—as well as Las Misiones—the organization that helps restore the San Antonio missions, which have been designated as a UNESCO World Heritage site.

She is married to Joe V. Alderete, Jr. The couple has five children—Claudette, Clarissa (deceased), Joe III, Carina and Marina—as well as five grandsons and a granddaughter.